ScholarRadar
Top Lists

Top 7 teach abroad programmes run by governments

Seven official teach abroad programmes: JET (Japan), EPIK (Korea), Auxiliares de Conversación (Spain), PAD (Germany), British Council Language Assistants (UK), Taiwan's Foreign English Teacher Program and France's language assistants.

Teaching abroad is one of the most practical ways to live in another country, earn a salary and gain experience that schools and employers value. The safest route is through official programmes run by governments, which recruit through embassies and education ministries rather than private agencies.

These seven teach abroad programmes are run or backed by governments. Every detail was checked on the official page, and each entry lists which nationalities can apply, because that is the rule that decides who can apply.

The list at a glance

#ProgrammeWhereNext deadline
1JET Programme (Japan Exchange and Teaching)JapanNot announced yet
2EPIK (English Program in Korea)South KoreaRolling
3Language and Culture Assistants in Spain (Auxiliares de Conversacion)SpainNot announced yet
4Foreign Language Assistants in Germany (PAD Fremdsprachenassistenz)GermanyNot announced yet
5British Council Language Assistants in the UKUnited KingdomNot announced yet
6Taiwan Foreign English Teacher Program (Ministry of Education)TaiwanRolling
7English Language Assistants in FranceFranceNot announced yet

1. JET Programme (Japan Exchange and Teaching)

Japanese government programme placing university graduates in Japanese schools and local governments, mainly as Assistant Language Teachers, with arrival in Japan in July. Salary is paid by the contracting organisation, but the official pages checked do not state the amount.

  • Who can apply: Open to graduates from over 57 countries, applying through the Japanese embassy in their home country; a bachelor’s degree is required by the arrival date. Confirmed open rounds for New Zealand, Trinidad and Tobago (also St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines), Australia and Ireland.
  • Deadline: Each country’s Japanese embassy sets its own deadline for the 2027 intake, for example 27 November 2026 for Trinidad and Tobago nationals and 1 December 2026 for New Zealand citizens, while Australia closed on 5 November 2026. Check your own embassy’s JET page; the next round opens around September each year.
  • Funding: Paid

Read the full listing

2. EPIK (English Program in Korea)

Korean government programme placing native English speakers as English teachers in public schools. Monthly pay is about 2.1 to 3.0 million KRW depending on level and region, plus a 300,000 KRW settlement allowance, housing, and completion and renewal bonuses.

  • Who can apply: Citizens of Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, the United States or South Africa with a bachelor’s degree; Indian citizens may also qualify under CEPA with a valid English teaching certificate. Applicants without an education degree need a TEFL, TESOL or CELTA of at least 100 hours.
  • Deadline: The Spring 2027 application opened on 1 August 2026 and is reviewed on a rolling basis in the order received, so applying early is advised. No closing date is given.
  • Funding: Paid

Read the full listing

3. Language and Culture Assistants in Spain (Auxiliares de Conversacion)

Spanish Ministry of Education programme placing assistants in Spanish schools to support teaching of English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese or Chinese, with a placement running from 1 November to 31 May. Assistants receive a monthly stipend, but the amount is not stated on the pages checked.

  • Who can apply: Citizens of participating countries aged 18 to 60 with a college degree or enrolled as at least a second-year student. Participating countries include about 25 English-speaking countries such as the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Ireland and New Zealand, plus Germany, Austria, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Morocco, Tunisia, Cote d’Ivoire, Luxembourg, Italy, Brazil, Portugal and China.
  • Deadline: The official page does not give dates for the 2027 to 2028 round; the 2026 to 2027 window for Polish applicants ran from 2 June to 30 June 2026. Check the Spanish education office for your country.
  • Funding: Paid

Read the full listing

4. Foreign Language Assistants in Germany (PAD Fremdsprachenassistenz)

Programme of the German Educational Exchange Service (PAD) placing foreign students as language assistants in German schools. Assistants receive a monthly stipend of currently 1,000 euros.

  • Who can apply: Students from the partner countries Australia, Belgium (Wallonia), France, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Canada, New Zealand, Switzerland (French-speaking), Spain, Taiwan and the USA, applying in their home country. A current certificate of good conduct is required.
  • Deadline: First-time applicants apply through the partner institution in their home country, which sets the deadline. Assistants applying for a second year through PAD can apply until 31 March.
  • Funding: Paid

Read the full listing

5. British Council Language Assistants in the UK

Places native speakers of French, German, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, Spanish and Irish as language assistants in UK schools for up to a year, working 12 hours a week plus up to six optional extra hours. A salary is paid and varies by UK location, with an extra allowance in London; amounts are not stated on the page.

  • Who can apply: Applicants apply through the partner agency in Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Canada (Quebec only), China, Colombia, France, Germany, Italy, Spain or Switzerland. Irish speakers can apply for Northern Ireland placements only.
  • Deadline: The British Council page does not list deadlines; each partner agency in the home country sets its own dates.
  • Funding: Paid

Read the full listing

6. Taiwan Foreign English Teacher Program (Ministry of Education)

Taiwan’s Ministry of Education recruits foreign English teachers and full-time teaching assistants for schools as part of its bilingual education policy. The support package includes a salary, but the announcement does not state the amount.

  • Who can apply: Passport holders from countries where English is an official or commonly used language, as recognised by Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, who meet the programme’s qualifications. Applications go through tfetp.k12ea.gov.tw.
  • Deadline: Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis, with interviews held selectively, until positions are filled. The 2026 announcement planned to recruit 980 foreign English teachers and full-time teaching assistants.
  • Funding: Paid

Read the full listing

7. English Language Assistants in France

French Ministry of Education programme placing assistants in French schools for seven months from 1 October to 30 April. The monthly allowance is about 1,010 euros in mainland France (official pages differ on whether this is gross or net), with higher rates in overseas regions.

  • Who can apply: Nationals of partner countries aged 20 to 35, applying through the French embassy or agency in their own country; confirmed routes include Australia, Ireland and the United States. Ireland requires at least two years of higher education and working French.
  • Deadline: Each country runs its own window. The US route via Villa Albertine is open from 15 October 2026 to 15 February 2027, while the Australian round for 2026/27 ran from 15 December 2025 to 15 February 2026.
  • Funding: Paid

Read the full listing

How we ranked them

This is an editorial selection, not a formula. We looked at how much each award pays (full funding ranks above fee reductions), how open it is to international applicants, and whether the official page is clear and current. Every detail was checked on the official page on October 30, 2026. No university or funder paid to be included.

Teachers who want to stay in their own career path may prefer the Fulbright programmes in our Top 10 opportunities for teachers.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a teaching qualification to teach abroad?

Not always. JET and the European language assistant programmes mainly ask for a degree or university study. EPIK asks applicants without an education degree for a TEFL, TESOL or CELTA certificate of at least 100 hours.

Can non-native English speakers apply?

It depends on the programme. EPIK and the Taiwan programme list specific nationalities, while the European assistant programmes recruit native speakers of several languages, not only English. Check the eligibility in each entry.

Before you apply

Read how to write a scholarship motivation letter, check which English test you need in IELTS vs TOEFL vs Duolingo, and see every upcoming date in the scholarship deadline calendar.